Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

New rider...already having problems :/

2K views 35 replies 15 participants last post by  ShinobiJeh 
#1 ·
Hello my names Jorge. I've been riding for about 3 months now, which is not long at all. I have a 09 ninja 650r (which Is my 1st bike). The bike is great and i love it yet for some reason it's wasting a lot of gas!! I've been getting in the high 20s every fill up! :( I don't ride hard at all and its pretty much all city driving since I mostly use it to go to and from school. I havent had time to check much since im in school, but im going to take it back home this weekend and either look myself or take it to a mechanic. Any ideas on what the problem can be?
Any help would be appreciated! Thanks :)

#3 ·
Hi Jorge, welcome to the forums.

I'm not big on American geography, from what little I know about it California is supposedly "the sun shine state". How cold is it there at the moment? Have you been using the choke much, have you been letting it idle for extended periods without moving? What rev does it idle at?

You said you've been riding for 3 months but its an 09 model so its 3 going on 4 years old, which leads me to assume you bought it second hand. Do you know anything about its history? Has it got any dents in the fuel tank or any leaks around the fuel lines?

There's a whole host of people with more technical knowledge than me around here but those are the first things that come to my mind.

#26 ·
I'm not big on American geography, from what little I know about it California is supposedly "the sun shine state". How cold is it there at the moment? Have you been using the choke much, have you been letting it idle for extended periods without moving?
The bike is fuel injected, no choke. And whenever I fill up my 07 650 at fuel light, about 3 gallons gets me +-155mi.