Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just installed a new rear caliper and lines. I bled the system 4 times and when the bike is sitting they work great but when you ride it they are way too weak. I felt a pulsing through the pedal so I checked and sure enough the rotor is bent about 2mm. I have a new one coming via Ebay. There are no leaks but I am wondering if a 2mm bend is enough to cause them to be really soft. I also heard that there could be air still in the lines at the connections that I need a pump to get out.
What do you guys think?

·
Registered
934 Posts
Umm, I'm no expert but I'd say definitely YES, a 2 mm is enough to cause the brakes to pulse and be really soft.
According to the service manual; Runout standard should be 0.15 mm or less, service limit is 0.3 mm.

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Put a new rear rotor on and in case anyone is wondering a 636 rotor fits perfect on an 02 (I think it was even a different part number) now I can stop with the rear brake and no more pulsing. Im still wondering how hard it is to lock up the rear wheel on these bikes. I have never had a modern sport bike before and with all my other bikes it is easy to lock up the rear wheel. I have not been able to lock this one up. Is that normal? I figured with the seating position putting my fat ass(190lbs) directly over the rear wheel it is getting just too much traction. Or is my brake still too soft?

·
Registered
934 Posts
I've got NO problem locking my rear wheel up... [8D] BRAND new Bridgestone BT010s :D, although I tend to have my 206.lbs more towards the front of the bike. (Which would make the rear lighter and easier to lock-up.)

How are the rear pads looking?

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
pads look pretty good, I think Im gonna try and bleed um some more then maybe adjust the pedal, we'll see.

·
Registered
3,106 Posts