Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3,728 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have noticed this for awhile now but never thought much of it until after I started riding a really nicely setup Honda VFR.

My ZX-6R seems to want to "stand up" in the turn, meaning I always have to apply some countersterring force to keep the bike leaned over. I noticed on a this nicely setup VFR that the bike will just stay leaned over without input. Basically I give the bike one countersteering input and the bike would track through the turn properly and I feel almost liek I could take my hands of the bars in mid turn and it would stay leaned over until I choose stand it up with a counter steering input.

MY zx-6r isn't like this, it wants to stand up itself so I'm always fighting it. I'm running pretty bad D207 and was wonder if this is primarily a tire thing or if their is some suspension or alignment things to look for? I'm just tired of having to muscle my light supersport around when I ride the "pigish" VFR and it take less effort.

·
Registered
2,342 Posts
Worn tires are probably a significant contributing factor. Even Massimino Tamburini admitted that good tires can somewhat mask a crappy chassis. I've ridden a Michelin-shod 2000 ZX-6R and it did well by any standard. Time to spoon on some new rubber y0!

·
Registered
3,728 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yeah i have some new rubber on it's way, some BT010/BT020 combo which should be nice, but I was hopping to find out what possible suspension or allignment issues might casue my bike to want to stand up constantly just incase the tires dont make a big difference.

·
Registered
284 Posts
Tire and tire pressure have a major impact on this. On my old 207s I had to fight to keep the bike over just like you're saying. When I switched to Pilot Sports, the bike went over easy and loved to stay there.

Low tire pressure can also contribute to this effect.

·
Registered