Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a new black 636 a week ago. I haven't got out to ride it due to the snow. I have only started it four times since I bought it. I only let it run for a very shot time until today. Today I started it and noticed a lot of smoke coming out of the exhaust. Water was also coming out of the bottom of the can. I trailerd my bike three hours home in a pretty good snow storm. Would I be correct to asume that all that snow got build up in the can. And what is coming out is condensation? It might look worse than it is because it is pretty cold in my garage. Do new bikes smoke due to assembly lube? I also think my bike smells very rich while running. I really don't know what to expect. I am new to street bikes I am used to my two stroke motocross bikes. They always smoke when you start them. Any thoughts or suggestion? Thanks

·
Registered
1,471 Posts
If you cannot ride the bike, do not start the engine. Otherwise, it may not burn off condensation idling at cold temperatures. For now, consider getting a battery tender.

New bikes come treated with cosmoline, which burns off with that distinct new-bike smell. Enjoy it while it lasts.

Your bike is likely fine. Do not worry about it.

·
Registered
20 Posts
the water coming out of the bottom of the exhaust is condensation.
there is a hole at the bottom to let it out.don't worry about it.

your bike will smell rich cos it is running on the choke.
if it's stood in a cold garage and you start it up,it will smoke a bit cos of the damp surroundings.

i put my bike away for the winter here in england at the end of november.i start it up every couple of weeks.let it run till the electric fan kicks in then let cool.i never have a problem with it.i leave the battery on charge all the time.