Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding my 03 ZX6R almost daily for the last 6 months with zero starting problems.

I went on vacation and left the bike for about 2 weeks. When I got back, the bike would not start. It would crank, but not start. I could hear the fuel pump prime when I turn the ignition.

The bike was perfect before my vacation, so I can't figure out why it would not start after sitting for 2 weeks. It sat in my apartment garage, so it wasn't exposed to rain or any other elements.

I'm leaning towards thinking it is fuel because I don't think all 4 spark plugs would go bad at the same time and the bike would at least struggle to start if only 1 were bad.

I've checked the fuses and everything is OK.

Any ideas?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Crank it over for a couple of seconds and pull out the spark plugs. If they are wet, you have fuel.
I tried pulling the plugs today and realized that the spark plug socket I have doesn't fit. I ordered the right size and it should be here this week. I ordered new plugs since I haven't changed them since owning the bike and I figure it wouldn't hurt to change them anyways.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ok... Better, but not fixed.

I replaced the battery, cranked but didn't start.

Replaced the spark plugs and it did the same thing.

I read on another thread about a guy with an 07 that had a similar problem and he said that after replacing his battery and plugs, he rocked the bike back and forth and it ran... so I tried it.

I stood the bike straight up and rocked it forward and back and cranked it. The bike struggled to start, but eventually did with the "choke" on. (The 03's are FI, but they have a choke)

I bike ran @ 2.5K RPM's with the choke on and died as soon as I closed the choke.