Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
692 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright guys, here's a puzzler for you! My 2008 250R is running on only one cylinder. It doesn't appear to be doing it during one certain time or event. Here's what I've done in this order:

-Drained the float bowls
(When I drained the bowls I found a little bit of trash particles)
-Drained the tank
-New spark plugs
-Fresh gas

Ran good for a few miles.. then back down to one cylinder like it was before. So I went more in depth:

-Pulled the carbs
-Cleaned all the jets, hoses, pipes, bowls
-Cleaned everything with carb cleaner

Ran great last night. Cranked it up today... Running on one again.

The only thing I haven't checked yet is anything electrical. I would take it to a dealership but I can't afford for it to not be covered by warranty. I'm a broke college student.

Bright ideas are welcome.

·
Registered
720 Posts
check both ignition coils and check for sparks. It sounded like fuel/carb wasn't the problem since you did all that?? After the check, I would just bring it into the dealer...You have a year warranty right? Why won't they cover?

·
Registered
692 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Cleaned out the pilots. Didn't look clogged to begin with.

No it doesn't run on both on idle. It will generally catch both above 8k but before that it generally doesnt. When I first drained the bowls it looks like small rust particles that could've been from some stirred up old tank from a gas station.

Ignition coils was going to be my next check but I have to get it back home first. (out of town right now) They may cover it. But if they don't cover it.. I honestly can't even afford the $85 or so for the diagnostics for them to find out what is wrong and it not be a warranty problem.

·
Registered
692 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
check the coils...

but im gonna say its the pilot jet.

its a VERY tiny hole, and easily clogged.

how many jets did u pull, and clean?