Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
459 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this has been going on for a few months now maybe even 6 months. At the start bike died when I was at the bike shop. Apparently found out the Regulator rectifier was on recall for the 09 and mine was going bad from the test my shop did. So Kawi replaced the Regulator. Also at this time bought a new battery. So Regulator and battery are both new. 1month later. Bike wont start when leaving the gym. Tried jump starting got about mile down the road and died on me. So since I'm not good with electrical stuff could this be a stator issue? The battery was completely dead and was left to push it few miles back home.

Now for the past months. I bought a battery tender seem to be working fine till today. I went to the store came home ran back out. And when I got on the bike the bike wouldn't start.

Lost on ideas what it could be. My shop told me they can look at it but it could take days cause they have to check everything one by one. Seeing I can justify spending a day worth of labor can anyone troubleshoot this or have experience with this particular issue?

·
Registered
445 Posts
Sounds like the stator or rectifier is bad.

Do a search on here about how to test them.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
1,992 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts

·
Registered
459 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
According to that test you linked the Regulator seems to be charging fine. Tested it and levels seem normal.

Is there a easy way to remove the stator to check the coils? I'm not sure where to test the stator according to that PDF guess im easily confused.

Thanks for all the help and suggestions by the way everyone.

·
Registered
156 Posts
I would think that If the voltage at the battery increases above the resting voltage of the battery when the engine is running, the battery is being charged by the stator/ regulator-rectifier system and your battery should not go flat.

·