Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi guys, im a noob here, but a pretty experienced d.i.y mechanic.

First things first, the bike has new rings, size 40 instead of 38 pilot jets and 3 turns, Fuel float height was set to 16.75mm instead of 17mm (slightly richer) , the float valve needle-tips are squished at the rubber tip not a perfect pyramid , And it did sit for months after the rebuild with the petrol cock left to prime and flooded the engine oil with petrol, but i caught onto that and drained the sump and reinstalled fresh oil, and installed an inline tap to the petrol cock to shut off when its not in use.

Valve adjustments were done when cold, not sure if need be done when hot, but they were not jammed open, i had clearances on all 16valves

The Bike runs pretty good, except for its erratic idle bouncing up 250rpm and down., so i assume now it must be the carb sync, they were synched by eye by me before i re-installed the carbies after i did the rings and valve adjustments..

Heres the kicker, I cant just plug off cylinders 3 and 4 and sync one and two together with a t-piece to a vac gauge. the bike wont start / or idle, it kicks over but wont start,

(all ports are blocked off at this stage) 1 and 2 with a T-piece to a gauge and 3 and 4 seperate lines that are blocked with a thick-screw.....And it wont start,

Then i switch it around and try and just see what vacuum #1 cylinder is pullin by itself, the other 3 vac-ports blocked individually,.. no go-er again,

Then i switch it around again back to stock with 1 and 4 synched up with its original hose and 2 and 3 to a T-piece as it is stock but the 3rd line that operates the petrol-cock diaphragm disconnected and plugged into the gauge, and it gives me a reading of about 15 cfpm and it starts/idles fine...