Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I have a 2000 Kawasaki zx 900e. Headlights just stopped working one night. Headlights don’t work now but sometimes come on when the bike is running. When they’re on the beam indicator is also on. When they’re off the beam indicator is off. Working on bike for a friend. I am an automotive mechanic so I have knowledge of electrical systems, use a power probe and read schematics just new to the zx bike. Questions I have are. 1 How does the headlight circuit work? 2 Where can I find a wiring diagram? 3 Where is the headlight relay located? 4 Where is the harness connector for the headlights located? Toggling the headlight switch does nothing. Tapping the switch does nothing. I looked inside the headlight switch and all connections seem fine. I checked at what I believe is the headlight harness connector based off the color wires in the switch Vs. the color wires at said connector and it looks fine no melts or corrosion. I checked the “head” fuse in the junction box it’s fine. How do I manually power the lights with a power probe. One last thing to mention is the plug at the back of the lightbulb, when the bike is running all three terminals are ground. What does that mean? Trying to figure out why the headlights were working stopped, and now it kind of only come on intermittently most of the time off sometimes on.
Tire Wheel Bicycle tire Crankset Automotive tire

Cameras & optics Camera accessory Digital camera Reflex camera Electrical wiring

Motor vehicle Finger Gas Measuring instrument Automotive battery

Speedometer Motor vehicle Vehicle Gauge Steering part

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·