Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been using Yuasa batteries for my last 2 MCs for many years. I had a Yuasa YTX20HL-BS Battery in my 2002 Concours since Sept 2008. I use Yuasa Smart Shot 12V 1.5 Amp Battery Charger for the last 6 + years, and, mine has worked great. I went out 2 weeks ago to take the MC for a ride to work, and I got the bike to turn over twice and then it quit. Nothing, no click, no lights, no dash lights, just completely dead. The following week I had time to check the battery. It was @ 8.3 VDC. I put the battery on the charger, and it took several hr.s to get to full charge (the Yuasa charger shows a green light when fully charged). After I pulled the charger off, I put a voltmeter on the battery, and it showed it was dropping voltage rapidly right off. I did some checking online @ the Yuasa web site, and it says that a fully charged battery should read 12.60-12.80 VDC. (well, that's with sulfate stop...)