Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 125 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This is the step-by-step guide to installing a HID kit for the 2007-2008 ZX-6R. I decided to do one since I was unable to find one bike specific. First of all, I'm a novice when it comes to installs. I would say that I'm a 3.5 out of 10 when it comes to skill level. However this install turn out to be very easy. It took me about 45 mins to complete and it should take you much less time with this guide. The kit I used for this install is from DDM/Apexcone that many of us has from this forum has purchased.

Here's my personal opinion of DDM.....

DDM Tuning Review:
- Quality: 8
- Value: 9
- Communication: 4
- Shipping Speed: 6
- Customer Service: 3

Before I get started, many of you had questions on how to tell the difference between the 35W and 55W ballast:

The 35W ballast is clearly labeled:

The 55W ballast is not labeled:

Okay, now back to the install...

1. Remove the one bolt with the allen wrench from the bike's tool kit.

2. Removing the side panel. Note the four projections/fasteners points. Just pull up on those four points and the panel comes right off.

3. To remove the stock bulb, just turn the assembly counter-clockwise and pull out the bulb.

4. Now to separate the stock bulb from the power harness. Just press on the tab to release the bulb.

5. Assemble your ballast and HID bulb harnesses. Be sure to match up your stock bulb to the HID bulbs to determine which is high and low beam. DDM/Apexcone didn't take the time to label them :mad:. However, if you look closely you will be able to tell the difference.