Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm finally in the market for a bike and finally have the money saved up. I'm a new rider so this will be my first bike. I've been looking on craiglist and I'm finding a lot of options. I found a 2011 Ninja 250 with 30,000 miles on it for sub $2500, but I figured I could probably get the price lowered because of how many miles it has. I've also found '09's with less miles for not too much more.

Would the 2011 Ninja 250 be more trouble than it's worth with that many miles on it?

·
Registered
54 Posts
I would wait for another 250. I'm new to bikes but not new to engines, With 30k on a tiny motor, you should be asking the seller for proof of work done on the motor, gaskets, valve adjustment, carb tuning & cleaning, and all the basic stuff. The guy should be selling it for $1000.

If you are serious I have a friend selling a black 08 250 with only 5k miles for 3k. However, she is located in Norcal. In addition, she had a lot of work done on the bike.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I plan on asking for all the information on what's been serviced and all that, the bike has been on there for awhile and the seller has lowered the price a few times, so it seems like not a lot of people are interested in it. Would it be worth it for $1000, or would I still be putting more money into repairs on that vs. the value of the bike/vs. older bike with less miles?

I'm still learning, so I'm sure whatever bike I do get will/may have the chance of getting beaten up.

Thanks for the offer, but that's a little bit too far for me. Haha.

·
Registered
1,797 Posts
At that mileage it depends. If it has been maintained and taken care of, the motor should be fine. If its been abused and neglected you will probably have issues. If seller can't prove the routine and preventative maint. steer clear of it.
Oh yeah. Definitely not worth 2500 resell value.