Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi every one, I am new in the "kawa-world" and also new in the forum....
I have a zx6r 06 with 6000 miles, I just put a -1/+1, a K&N air filter, Steel Brake Lines and Leo vince slip on, BUT, I would like to know if some of you know what is the difference between the POWER COMMANDER 3 and the KAWASAKI 636 RACE CDI, I found this CDI in ebay, the addres is: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/zx6r-zx-6r-636-racing-ecm-ecu-w-software-NEW_W0QQitemZ230257854484QQihZ013QQcategoryZ35580QQrdZ1QQssPageNameZWD1VQQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1638Q2em118Q2el1247

The factory RACE CDI is already tunned?? it´s neccesary to buy a wire to program it (since the CDI comes with a PC CD)??
Which one is the best??

I hope some of you could help me, and sorry if I´m asking something that was posted before but I didn´t find anything...

Thanks.....:cool:

·
Premium Member
10,463 Posts
alright man, for the money all all that, to be honest stick with a PCIII and getting a tune.

The race ecu is a nice touch and should free up some power, but without a tune for your specific bike it is just something added, as it can remove the rev limitere and change more things than just the fueling like the PCIII.
but to find someone to tune a bike with it (depending on area) it is not so easy, and also most still add a PCIII with the kit ecu. and you may need ot buy a cable $250+ if your tuner doesnt have one.

for my money (SIMPLICITY) i went to the PCIII and a tune and was all set for under $500
Now i am not going into anything of the bazzazz as i am sure someone else may, but sinc eyou asked PC.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Welcome nereo! First off, $250 is very cheap for a new race/Kit ECU. Secondly, if that part number is correct, that particular ECU will only work for the 05-06 6RR or 6R (with tuning). It's the software CD which includes tuning software will work for either 6R, 6RR or 10R.