Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys, hows it going? I am new to Kawi-forums and I already have a problem.
I went for a short ride with my 01 9R, did a small wheelie and about a mile and half later the bike started sputtering similar to what it feels like when you are about to run out of fuel. Then it died and I started it again and it ran for about 50ft with little power and died again. Now it wont even start. So I started diagnosing:
1)Battery is fine, fuses look good.
2)I took the fuel pump out and connected it directly to the battery, submerged the Inlet hose and it was poaring out fuel. I didn't connect a fuel pressure guage, but it was poaring out fuel pretty good.
3)Then I checked the fuel pump relay and the ohms were in the right region according to the chart in the haynes manual.

Do you guys have any ideas on what I need to do to get the 9R running agian? Thanks in advance, Andrew.

·
Registered
311 Posts
I'm not real mechanically inclined but did you get past the basic checks like:

Fuel hose unobstructed?
Tank free of rust or sediment inside?
Fuel filter clean enough?
Could a hose have popped off when setting down the wheelie?

Has the bike been used much lately or was this the first ride in a long time?

Welcome to the site!

·
Registered
442 Posts
Make sure there is fuel in the bowls (loosen the drain screw and see if fuel comes out). Check the plugs...

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It was probally about 1-2 Weeks between riding, but it has been sitting in my garage for about 3-4 months since then. The filter and hoses look in good order. Thats my next step bala, I am waiting on the arrival of some NGK Iridium plugs but I will take a look at the old ones tommorow.
Will fuel come fill bowls if the bike has been sitting there for a while?
Thanks bala and ninerider01. I will let you guys know what happends tommorow.

·
Registered