Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,074 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Forgive me naivety (sp?) but what are the differences between the two race circuits?

I'm new to the racing side of motorcycling...I just like watching so far :)

Thanks!

·
Registered
349 Posts
MOTOGP= The best of the best.

AMA= The guys trying to make it to MOTOGP

Think of it as AAA baseball. If you're good enough, you're going to get called up.

·
Registered
537 Posts
MotoGP is like F1 to cars.
In AMA bikes are derived from production models, in GP they are custom designed and build. Where else can you see a V5 sport bike with 200+ HP?
There is also 125cc and I think 250 GP.

·
Registered
4,295 Posts
It's more like AMA is little league t-ball, World Superbike is AAA and MotoGP is the All-Star Games.

AMA and World superbike require stock looking production based machines. MotoGP rules disallow any use of production parts, so as not to infringe on World Superbike turf.

·
Registered
2,342 Posts
Indeed, just about all the exotica you see on GP bikes cannot be had unless you KNOW some people - then you gotta find a bike to put it on! Case in point - carbon discs, $4,000 per side, I believe they were permitted one year in WSBK but were banned because almost no team could afford such brakes.

GP bikes are your exotica no limit on budget sort of bikes. Essentially Honda has proven that if you dump enough money into it, you'll win.

SBK is supposed to be based on bikes you can buy from your dealer, and supposedly all the parts they have are available to you and I - but for a price and if you know the right people.

·
Registered
17 Posts