Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been using the Shell Rotella T Synthetic 5w40 in my 2007 ZZR600. Well it was time for an oil change so I picked up a jug. But when I brought it home, I noticed it was in a slightly differant bottle than the last Rotella T I bought. So I went online and saw that this Rotella was 'new and improved'. It was 'Shell Rotella® T Synthetic with API CJ -4 Technology'. It has API SM cerification. My owners manual says I should use an API SH, or SJ, or SL. Can I still use the new Rotella T?

·
Registered
574 Posts
problem is theyre both blue, its a new version thats sold alongside the older jug but its updated to meet API SM standards, if im not mistaken you can also find energy conserving written somewhere on it....im no expert but i think you got the version that will make your clutch slip and you need to find the old style jug that is "only" SL...

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It was in the blue jug. And there was no mention of energy conserving anywhere. It was SM rated, and from what I could find out about SM is that it supercedes all other S ratings (ie SH, and SL). So I'm pretty confidant it should be OK. I looked everywhere today and I couldn't find the old Rotella anywhere, so I guess we're stuck with the new stuff.

·
Premium Member
4,776 Posts
It was in the blue jug. And there was no mention of energy conserving anywhere. It was SM rated, and from what I could find out about SM is that it supercedes all other S ratings (ie SH, and SL). So I'm pretty confidant it should be OK. I looked everywhere today and I couldn't find the old Rotella anywhere, so I guess we're stuck with the new stuff.
+1

yes...any "new" rating must be compatible with the earlier ones.

·
Registered
574 Posts
Alright but dont forget 2 things: