Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Just installed my ASV levers (both long). I wanted to post my experience with the install. First of all, I'm a novice when it comes to installs. I would say that I'm a 3.5 out of 10 when it comes to skill level. I did many searches to get a comfort level to see if it's an install I can handle, but didn't find anything bike specific. This install turned out to be incredibly easy. Took me 45 mins to do...should've took 25 mins tops if I wasn't so anal. I didn't take pics of the install because it's so easy. However, I do have a couple of tips:

- The brake lever is very straight forward. Watch this video for reference: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cydSYQF8WhE .

Tips: The ASV instructions tells you to change the plunger rod. However that is NOT necessary because the rod is actually too short, so skip that step. Also if you're very anal, buy some locktite before your install. The "list of tools needed" doesn't mention it, but suggest you use some if you can.

- The clutch was what made me nervous, but it wasn't too bad. Just check out this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MTcBDi8-7AY .

Tips: You need a 10mm DEEP socket otherwise you won't be able to reach the nut. When flipping the clutch lever during install, try flipping it the opposite direction if you need to fight it (didn't figure this out till later :banghead:) Having a pair of needle nose pliers is helpful, but not mandatory.

Now for the review: