Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So the other day i took apart my bike to clean the carbs, put new plugs and cleaned the gas tank. when i took the fairing off i saw some one had clipped the original harness for the blinkers and were directly connected instead with crimp caps. well after all the cleaning and redoing the crimps (that i know are done right i do stereo installs for a living and crimp shit all day) and trying to start the bike it hesitated a bit then fired right up. After a few runs the bike died. and would not start the lights were dim. took the battery out recharged and put back in, same thing after a while. pulled the batter out and found out all the cells were almost compltely dry. filled with new acid charged again and could ride longer but still dies. i charged the battery completely and took it to get tested at two auto parts stores and both said the battery was good but i dont know if that was cause it was completely charged before i took it in. any advice on what anywould would think it is please speak i will take any and all suggestions. thanks in advance.

·
Registered
574 Posts
Whenever we get a battery thats dry we add distilled water ("battery" water)....you got an acid solution in your battery, unless it was poured out or spilled battery levels drop via evaporation and in that case its only the water content that is missing from your battery, adding more pre-mixed acid solution for your battery increases the concentration enormously and can do more damage than good.

We test batteries often but theres alot that seem ok at first but we got some that loose their charge in no time or charge poorly, also it depends on the type of charger you got, most cant tell you that the battery charges right up like a 3ah battery but the label on the battery reads 12...