Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Specs: 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 250r -- 7,000 miles
Overview: 1inch hole in what I believe is the crankcase. Questions about repair/parts/costs (below).

Hey,
Big noob here in the kawi forum. Spend most my time over in the Cherokee XJ forums, ha.

Anyway, during the summer [2015], I was riding with low oil, I understand how stupid that was, but I had just gotten the bike as a cheap hand-me-down and didn't figure to check the oil so quickly [i was oblivious to the clear oil gauge], as I was going down the highway I suddenly began to rapidly lose power, once pulled over my bike was basically draining what was left of the oil onto the ground.

Eventually I got it home and assessed:
- 1in. hole right below what I think is the crankcase. [see picture].
- Oil draining from that hole.
- No smoke, except for what burned off from drips.
- Would not turn-over (even immediately after powerless.)
[[pictures below]]

So, yes I understand my bike is pretty f*'d, but I do have a couple questions..
1) Am I correct that this is the crankcase [in picture]?

2) How much would parts costs to replace that (if possible), would it require entire new setups? Or could I just split the crankcase and fit on a new lower part? [Id say I'm pretty mechanically inclined, so I'm sure I could figure it out if it can actually be done.]

3) If number two is just false, or overkill, how much could I expect to pay to have it replaced?

Thank you guys, any insight/thoughts would be awesome. If anything, just need a point in the right direction.

THE PICTURES BELOW ARE NOT OF MY BIKE. I PULLED IMAGES ONLINE.

Attachments

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
part name?

It's probably more economical to scour Ebay and the like for another power unit altogether than to attempt a rebuild.

Can you give me a better description/name of the unit I should be looking for when scouring ebay?