Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys, I hope someone can help me out.

I've been battling this problem for almost 3 years with no progress and I'm tired of dealing with it. My bike will not rev past 8000 rpm. Period. It doesn't matter what gear, but when I get close to WOT near 7500~8000 rpm, the bike acts like it has hit the rev limiter and becomes completely unresponsive to throttle inputs. Once it falls to about 6500 rpm, the bike bursts back to life and then dies again near 8000. It's like riding a bucking horse.

So here's what I have done to battle the situation:
replaced plugs
replaced ECU
replaced throttle body
cleared tank vent line
new battery (2 years ago)
new fuel pump
replaced fuel line

What I have installed:
Power commander, pipe
dual H4 headlight conversion

At part throttle below 8000, the bike runs strong. Sometimes, the bike manages to break through 8000 but at some point before redline, the bike dies and I'm left coasting until the revs fall below 7000 again.

Has anyone else had this problem? There are a few threads on the forum with similar problems, but their solutions have not worked for me. I don't get any FI lights and no backfires or sputters. The bike shuts off until it gets into the lower revs.

Any one have a rectifier or a stator go out? Does that show symptoms like this?

Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated.

·
The Indifference Engine
6,150 Posts
Well, I'd be checking the wiring harness myself.

If it were the stator or rectifier the battery would not be charging and it'd run till the battery was dead.

·
Registered
3,609 Posts
have you pulled the power commander off to see how it runs without it? maybe a bad unit or bad map?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #10