Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anybody ever followed the break-In procedures? I was always told break it in how you normally ride, is this true?

·
Registered
486 Posts
If I ever had a new bike (which probably will never happen)....I would give it a moderate break in...some full throttle, but not above 8-10K RPMs.

That's my opinion. I don't believe lugging a new engine is good, nor is beating on it.

·
Registered
138 Posts
i rode it how i normaly ride i just changed the oil at 300miles and just did a recent oil change today at 1400. ill be following the normal oil changes now around 2500-3000miles.

·
Premium Member
3,573 Posts
When I worked as a Motorcycle Tech., I ALWAYS told people to break it in the same way you are going to ride it. I also suggested they buy the extended warranty;) For me personally, I bought a new 636 right out of the crate and was doing 1st gear power wheelies on my way home from the dealership. All I can suggest is ride it however you want, it's YOUR bike.

·
Registered
759 Posts
My break-in suggestions are:
- Don't lug it
- Don't abuse it
- Vary the RPMs all the time (no cruising at the same RPM on a highway)
- Occasional short, hard blasts of acceleration and hard engine braking are good (after the engine is warmed up)

I spent most of my break-in period between 5K and 10K RPM. Did a 300+ mile ride home from the dealer, changed the oil, did another 300+ mile day ride the next weekend. Changed the oil again around 600 miles and basically considered the bike broken in at that point. Did a couple more 300+ mile day rides and changed the oil yet again at about 1200 miles. I switched to synthetic at around 2500 miles.

·
Registered
335 Posts