Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
554 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been debating on switching for some time and finally did after my last race which a saved 2 highsides. I cannot stand the new BT002 Pro. I have been working with it for 2 months+ and just can't get the stupid things to work like the old one. Plus every time a race winner comes in you see he's on Dunlops. That alone takes a toll. So anyways after taking tire measurements I found the Dunlop rear slick to be 5mm(radius) taller and the front to be .6mm taller. Then I made the geometry changes to counter the tires. Here's the problem, I never had a issue with the front end before but these Dunlops bring out vicious head shake. I will probly have the problem solved by the end of next Saturdays practice but if not I will crawl back to Bridgstone.

·
Registered
87 Posts
if the headshake is coming about in high speed areas, it is probably do to the fact the the rear tire grows at high speeds. thus making the trail shorter making the chassis unstable.

·
Registered
554 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
195/70 rear and no. Good call Yamahamer. It wasn't happening under high speed but it was under acceleration. Part of my fix for increasing trail when I put the taller tire on was moving the axle back because I wanted to increase stability. Doing this added leverage to the swing arm causing a lower ride height and faster sitting, bringing up the front under accel. So I added one click rear compression bringing correct ride height and slowing the extra leverage. Then took out a click of front rebound to reduce bounce. Problem solved as far as I can tell for doing this on side streets. But when I get to the track it could a whole new story.

·
Registered
554 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·