Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 74 Posts

· Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been running 2 washers on my needles for about 15 months, and today I decided to try 3 washers per needle. Initial impressions is that the power delivery is slightly more smooth, but at the same time, the RPM needle is also slightly slower coming back when I rev the engine. Is this normal? Has anyone else tried 3 washers?

· Premium Member
2,702 Posts
for carb tuning, the main thing is to get the main jet the proper size so that at WOT 100%fuel is the right amount.....from there you can adjust the needle to get the right richness.....ie, if the main jet is too rich(as they are out of the box) and raising the needle richens the system, then all that does is smooth out the power by killing power production with too much fuel.

So, trying to get the most out of your bike all starts with the main jet and then tune down the fuel circuits from there, finishing at the pilot screws.

Stock bike, I generically go down to the 135 mains, shim the needles and go a good 2-2.5 turns out on the screws.

On my tuned motor i was down to a 128 main and zx7R needles....ripped straight to redline :D

· Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I ordered a set of carbs cheap to experiment more, but honestly, I came close to buying Ivan's and dynojets many times but the cost, coupled by the fact that not everyone got results, kept me from buying. Where do you get your jets and how much?

· Registered
272 Posts
If you are running the stock needles, even shimmed to .040" or .060" you are still going to need main jets in the 147.5-152.5 range.

There is no way you could run 130 something mains with oe needles, and jetting is alot more than get your main jet correct and the rest will follow.