Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
some time ago there was some discussion about what to do if the rear brake was locked. apparently during the safety course people are told to leave it locked until they come to a full stop. i disagreed then and still do. i teach telemark skiing and when i take a total beginner, first timer up the beginner lift i will tell them if they start down and feel like they are going too fast, out of control, just sit down to stop. this is about as sophisticated in skiing as locking up the rear brake and holding it on a bike and there are alternatives. maybe this is taught to total beginners as it is better than to high side in a panic. for 30 years the only way to panic stop my harley was to lock up the rear brake and do a series of skids, so i got pretty good at it (since replaced the brakes). it is a really excellent idea to practice locking and releasing the rear in dirt before it happens on the street. you shouldn't lock it up in the first place. don't stomp on the pedal, just press lightly to help the front out with heel on the peg. try to feel when it is about to lock and quickly release enough to keep the wheel turning. the brakes have much more power than the engine so brakes need to be respected, it's a very subtle skill. again, practice in dirt putting your bike in a slide and accelerating out of it or just get the feel of when it is going to lock. i used to race on ice and it was all a controlled skid, just like dirt trackers. i'm not saying i'm a pro gp racer or anything or trying to get an argument going and i'm basically speaking to beginners. it may be true it's safer for beginners to hold the wheel locked once it happens but there are other things you can do. my .02. j

·
Registered
2,621 Posts
I'm a dirt rider from way back and find the similarities and differences between dirt and street has everything to do with available traction.