Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 121 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So Ive been riding my 6r for a few good weeks, got about 700 miles in, takin all the back roads i know around here, and i still have chicken strips. i've been riding for a few years on and off, and never was concerned with them on other bikes, but its not an experience thing. i only have 1/2" or so on either side of my tire. i just cant seem to get rid of them no matter how or where i ride. basically, im wondering if thats common since i dont hit the track yet, or if my riding's slacking that much. how wide are yours?

·
Registered
364 Posts
where in central Florida you at? My dad lives in Clearwater and I'm up at school in Tallahassee. Theres JenningsGP on the Florida/Georgia line thats a pretty sweet track. For the strips....just ride and remember turns and routes you take, when you get used to the road start taking certain turns harder (in takng them harder learn the bike more) makes the rides more fun. I actually started riding with two guys from where I bought my bike and they have taught me alot about leaning and stuff since they both race weekly

oh yeah I have NO chicken strips:D

·
Registered
2002 ZX6R
26,947 Posts
just big enough to fit in the sauce cup.

·
Registered
126 Posts
I know it's hard-but I really wouldn't worry too much about it. If the roads you are riding are super tight-you'll use more lean angle and more tire, if you're riding more open sweeping roads (equally as fun sometimes) you just don't need to carry the lean angle. If you end up at a track and have anyone worth listening to giving you instruction, you'll find that they want you to carry even less lean angle and get your butt/body off the bike so you can maximize the amount of tire patch contact when accelerating.

I use more tire on one of my local roads thats got 15 mph hairpins on it and is a two lane "goat road" than I use at the track for that exact reason.