Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at getting some Metzeler Sportec M-3s for my 01 ZX-6R I am brand new to riding and motorcycles but the reviews and descriptions I read about this tire sound very good. I don't want a super soft track type tire, even if it is streetable. I want something with somewhat decent wear, but I mostly want something that will perform well. By that I mean I want the best possible traction for a daily driver type of situation in a semi-wet warm climate. And unfortunately I do have budget constraints! I've seen these tires for about $106 front and $136 rear.

If anyone has any tips or suggestions, good places to buy from etc. I would appreciate some input. If you have these tires, please tell me how you've liked them.

Sizing: I'm assuming that I take the stock dimensions in the manual and just match those (120/65/17 front, 180/55/17 rear) is there anything else I need to look at?

Thanks in advance.
DG

·
Neutered
2006 MV Agusta F4 1000S
8,868 Posts
Doing a search on here will give you tons of info, but I'll recap to save you some time, and you can search if you need more info or what not.

You might as well stick with stock tire sizes. 120/70/17 is a more common aftermarket tire size for the front tire, but it will slow your turn-in speed unless you adjust your suspension by raising the forks about 5mm, give or take. So if you're not comfortable with that, it's just easier to stick with a 120/65/17 front. If you want more info on that, do a search on here for 70 section or 70 profile front tire, there's a lot of very informative threads hanging around. For the rear tire, I'd definately stick with 180/55/17. A 190/50/17 will fit, but it's just generally not a good idea.