Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, i just got this bike today so Im kinda new at this sport bike thing..... I used to ride a honda rebel, when I come up to a red light I usually pull the clutch and downshift all the way to first. Sometimes I would still be going like 25 or 30. I would keep the clutch pulled back while stopping all the way until I would have to start rolling again for the green. NOW.....

When I do this with the 636 I hear noise when I get into first gear and am still rolling around 30/35. When I stop I dont hear it anymore. Any Ideas? is this normal? Another thing.... when I roll up to the light and it turns green I sometimes just take it into second gear skipping first, I get a litte bit of a jolt even with the clutch pulled in and you get that loud clap. Please let me know if im just being anal retentive!! thanks!!

·
Registered
16 Posts
try putting the clutch to the biting point then pulling it back in again before you shift back up to 2nd, see if that helps. (might not, it's just a suggestion).

i'll test out the 1st gear noise thing on my bike today, see if i get the same sounds.

·
Registered
439 Posts
I know exactally what you are talking about in refrence to the noise made when you put it in 1st while decelerating and just use brakes to stop instead of engine breaking. I too am interested in what this noise is and if there is any reason it could be bad.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Java Joe.... Im acutally not using the first gear to engine break (I dont think) by keeping the clutch pulled back until I come to a complete stop. I was told by some experienced riders to always keep it in first just in case you have to take off to get out of the way while waiting at a red.

·
Registered
439 Posts