Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there~

I am a newbie, I've been lurking on the forum for the last couple of months. I am in the market for a new/used bike and am interested in the 500R or the 650R. Hopefully I'll join the ninja family soon. :D

The problem is, I am having a difficult time finding any 650Rs in the area(L.A.), so I have no idea how it feels like to sit on this bike. I tried a couple of used 500Rs last weekend and they felt great! The seating position was not as up-right as I thought and felt somewhat sporty. What can I expect from the 650R in comparison? I am not tall(5'8") and would like to flat foot, which I could on the 500R...the 600R is listed only .6" higher and hopefully that's barely noticeable. Does the bike feel bulkier? Is the seating position more up-right? Kawasaki claims that the 650R engine is more compact than 500R so I wonder if the bike feels narrower. I would love to hear from anybody who has tried both.

Thanks in advance!!!

·
Registered
108 Posts
Whats up Killer,

I was in the same boat as yourself a few months ago. I could find every bike imaginable at the dealer, but they never had the 650. Finaly two months ago, one shop actually got it in and I was able to sit on the beast.

I thought the upright position was going to be very straight up riding position, but it turned out to be very sporty and comfy. If its not sport enough you could always upgrade your bars for a more sporty feel.

Bike is very light and can easily be whipped around after you get the feel for it. Im 6'1" so I can't help you with the hight, but im sure you'll be fine with it.

Its definetly a great starter bike!

·
Registered
9 Posts
I've been able to ride both the 08'-650r and the 09'-500.