Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Here speaks the voice of experience[8D], Anyone else ?, Do you make it part of your riding, do you do it without thinking or (like me[:I]) have to make a concious effort to use it everytime you ride.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Hello.

Im new to riding motorcycles but I just finished taking the MSF class.

Ive been researching about countersteering for about 3 days straight and its given me a huge freaking headache.

I understand how to countersteer(push left to go left, etc)

And I kind of understand the whole gyroscope effect. As you push left, a force hits the left side of the wheel causing the wheel to lean into it.

I also understand that countersteering is the only way to turn a motorcycle past 10 mph.

With all of these things things in mind, DOESNT EVERYONE COUNTERSTEER??????AND HOW DOES ONE "FAIL" TO CONTERSTEER???PUSH LEFT TO GO LEFT AND RIGHT TO GO RIGHT< DOESNT SEEM THAT HARD TO ME.

Sorry guys it just seems to me like everyone blows countersteering out of proportion, when in fact its pretty simple. It also has been driving me nuts and sometimes confused because I thought about it WAY to much.

Sixxer

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I understood it to be because it reduces the rolling radius of the tyre as its rotated around its circumference. It certainly works with the Knee Down, and if you get it wrong, You end up with both Knees down:D.

·
Registered
1,606 Posts
Your right. Everyone countersteers to some extent. The more agressively you ride the more you will actually "steer" the bike at the beginning of the turn. When you ride slow you lean first and the kinda push. When you wanna ride fast you turn first and then lean. The object is to get the bike leaned and stable as quickly as possible.

·
Registered
3,106 Posts