Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just put a set of these on my 03 6R track bike and cannot beleive the grip and feedback these things have over the multiple sets of Diablo Corsa's I've been running for the last two years. Just a tire change took 2 seconds off a lap at Beaver Run. Wound up dialing in a few clicks on the Scotts damper to get rid of the head shake that popped up after the switch. I know the Corsas are not in the same range as the GP's but I never expected such a huge difference. The Corsa's are almost numb in comparison as far as feedback.

Any of you guys switched to a more race oriented tire and noticed the same thing?

·
Registered
554 Posts
Good I'm thinking of switching from Bridgestone BT002 to Sportmax slicks. not really a feed back issue more of a wear issue. I'm only getting 1/2 a track day from the 002 rear. I have got more involved in racing and dropped lap times, doing so is costing to much money. I use to wear the right side at Willow Springs, then take the left side to California wear that down, and change. Now, 4 sessions at willow and no tire. Plus the BT002 just switched to a BT002"pro" and I'm not diggin it. The new carcass is very stiff like Michelins and you need a very low preasure to get it to work. I was on dragons before and liked them but I think I need to try the winning tire company.

·
Registered
1,354 Posts
If you are only getting a half a track day from a tire you have serious suspension issues. The only guys I know who have those issues are AMA racers and guys with suspension problems. So if you are that fast, cool, but most likely you have suspension problems to sort. I have only gone through a tire in a half day once, and that was on a literbike with suspension issues.

·
Registered
554 Posts