Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm no electrician (my father is, but he won't even look at my bike bc he hates that I own one..haha) and I'm trying to install rear turn signals on my bike ('03 636). I picked up these LED lights and tested them out, but what's fucking everything up is that my frame sliders are also LED turn signals.. When I hook them up and turn the blinkers on, the whole blinking pattern gets fucked up and my whole battery drains and I have to jumpstart it....I don't think there would be a problem at all if I had regular frame sliders, but I don't wanna get rid of the LEDs. Isn't there some kind of box (I've heard) or something that can solve this? Or some other solution? Also, anyone 'have/can direct me to' the electrical schematics for my bike?

·
Registered
1,266 Posts
Blinking too fast?
You'll either need to wire 8 ohm high power resistors paraller for each turn signal or you could get an electric "non-sensing" flasher relay to keep the flashing constant (my fav route).

·
Banned
1,505 Posts
This makes NO sense. LED's only work in one polaric direction. They DO NOT use much more than low miliamps (50-200mah) @ 12-13 vdc and should NOT kill your battery even if left on over night.

You sir, have other electrical issues.

·
Registered
266 Posts
^^ hes right. something else is at play. did you put the frame sliders in? might want to look that stuff over. what kind of led's are they?

·
Registered
29 Posts
Something has to be grounding itself to the frame and draining your battery from the turn signal circuit. Even a good amount of bright LEDs can be left on for hours if not days with a battery as large as our bikes.

·
Registered
3,690 Posts
So does it have to be 8ohm? I read somewhere to wire a 10ohm...Just got my led for the front and they blink the "burnout" warning...

·
Banned
1,505 Posts