Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
umm....i just did the other day....lol it was interesting...its suposed to be .005 to .008 and it was .001 so now adjusted it to .005 i was kinda shocked..but anyway....i used one i got from candian tire it was about a half inch thick and they slid out u know...kinda like a jack knife.

·
Registered
3,112 Posts
How hard is it to check and adjust your valves Andy? I've never done it before, but I know I'm going to get elbow deep in bike maintenance this winter.......

·
Registered
1,606 Posts
Get a feeler guage that has bent blades and the job will be a little easier.

I adjusted the valves on my '95 ZX-6R at 15,000 and all the exhuasts were too tight as were a couple of the intakes. Checking the valves is pretty simple, pulling the cams and getting them back correctly is a bitch. I must have had them on and off half a dozen times before I got it right.

Do yourself a favor and map the shim size on every valve when you take the cams off the first time. That way next time you can measure the clearance and order them shims you need without having to remove the cams.

After you get it back together always turn the engine through a couple of revolutions by hand to make sure there is no interference. If one of the cams is off a tooth and you try to start it you will be buying new valves and maybe pistons.

·
Registered
3,728 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
"Checking the valves is pretty simple, pulling the cams and getting them back correctly is a bitch. I must have had them on and off half a dozen times before I got it right. "

yeah this is the first time I'm doing and and checking them seems easy enough according to my manual, but if I need to replace shims, that's when thinsg get iterestings.