Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,
I found this forum not too long ago and its seems to me you all know what your talking about. So heres my problem, I have a '95 6R F1 and yest i was riding up the street not even a 1/4 mile from where I live and my bike just shut off all of a sudden. I tried to restart but the neutral light would not come nor would it turn over, then i looked down to see smoke coming out from under the seat and the damn thing was on fire?! I was able to get it out and wheel it back to my place and take a look at it, after i got the side panel off i looked in this service manual i got and it appears to be the fuel pump?? I'm not a mechanic by any means and the bike won't start at all now. Help please...
Thnx
-stomatic

·
Registered
1,606 Posts
I have exactly the same bike. Yeah, the fuel pump is under the seat kinda on the right side and it has a fuel filter attached to it. What was burning, wires or fuel? I don't think the fuel pump is serviceable. There is also a fuel pump relay.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The smoke coming out was a light gray color, not real dark and i wasnt able to get the whole side panel off due to the lack of a socket set but i could see a piece that somewhat resembled the fuel pump in the service manual half burned away. There are melted plastic splatter all over, but no gas dripping out. I know this bike is way out of warranty, but if I called Kawasaki telling them what happened you think they might at least cover repairs? I mean the bike is completely stock and has only 7,500 miles on it.

·
Registered
223 Posts