Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys, I just bought my first street bike the other day, and it happened to be a 97 zx7r.
first off, after a couple days of owning the bike, I started riding and after about 15 min of riding, I came back home and turned it off. It instantly started smoking, so I find where its coming from and its coming from the round thing beside the oil filter (that was loose) or the oil filter.

so I stopped riding and changed the oil and filter and the bike was 2 quarts low. I cleaned up the bike and got all the oil off from where it had been leaking thinking it was the oil filter.

but today as I get off work and get to WalMart, the bike is smoking again and there are droplets of something (oil/water can't tell) on the round thing beside the oil filter. Can someone tell me what could be going on?

and also, my fan is spliced to turn on when the key is turned, and there are 2 connectors on each side of rad that aren't plugged in, what would they go to???

I'm new to the street bikes, I've raced motocross but I don't know a lot about the wiring of a street bike. Info would help a lot!!!

·
The Indifference Engine
6,150 Posts
The extra wires are probablythe temp sensor. Turning on with the key isn't great. But better than nothing.

Not sure about the leak. Clean it up and dust a little flour on the area. That'll let you back track the source and replace the leaking seal.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3