Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So this past weekend I went riding on twisties (the Bay Area's Highway 9) with an '03 R6 (guy has 1000 miles of experience) and an '08 CBR 600RR (guy has 5000 miles of experience mostly on that highway and a track day). I have 1000 miles of experience and it was my first time on the twisties.

I could keep up with the R6 but not with the 600RR who lead the whole way. With my bike's agility, I thought I'd be able to keep up. But this road has long sweeping corners very much like a track so I guess power is used more than agility. Is it just that I'm still a noob and the 600RR is very agile for its size? He wasn't even hanging off his bike while I was. True he's got more experience (and he's a cool guy), but he was riding 2-up the whole way and disappeared a few times with his passenger!

I never rode past my limit but felt like I hit my limit a few times. It was great fun, but frustrating that I really had to try while he wasn't even trying.

·
Registered
298 Posts
when you get better you will be able to keep up with the bigger bikes in the turns. there are a lot of straights on the backside of 9, so if they gun it you will be left behind. but be careful, there are a lot of cops on 9 and 35 and always be sure to put your foot down on 4-corners.

i am shocked though that you only have 1000 miles under your belt riding and your already hanging off your bike in mountain roads. be careful you don't hurt yourself.

·
Registered
113 Posts
The other thing is basic physics. The latest CBR600RR only weighs about 20-30 lbs more than the new 250, and has 120/180 tires on the bike stock. That's a lot more rubber to be putting down, more grip to be had. Also, that's a 10,000$ bike, it probably has a much better quality suspension setup on it.

·
ratherberiding
18,438 Posts
why are you trying to keep up with them?

they have 3x the HP to power away