Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been researching what bike to buy for the last three months. At one point, I was seriously thinking about getting the Honda CBR500R, but then I found comments about the tight gear ratio and high engine rev even at speed limit (in US - 60-70mph / 100-115kmh). CBR500R riders were reaching for the non-existent 7th gear while cruising on freeway, which is IMO very annoying.

I mentally switched my research to Ninja 650. So far I haven't seen any complaints like that.

Can 650 owners help me out here? What do you think and feel about its gear ratio and engine rev at 70-80 mph? (10mph above speed limit is usually ok lol). Do you have to change gears often when riding around town?

With 71-hp, I would think the bike should hardly be working when running below 100mph...

Thanks much!!

·
Registered
172 Posts
I own a 2013 ninja 650r. 1st gear I usually shift at about 30-35mph which is like 7-9k rpms. 2nd like 50mph and again not positive but I'd say right around that 7-9k rpms. If I'm cruising back roads by myself I will be in 4th at like 65-70mph and 6500rpms give or take. Highway I usually run 6th gear at like 85mph and ill be at 6500-7000 rpms. I've hit about 10k rpms at like 125mph and that's fastest I've went. All those numbers are just rough estimates and that's when I'm being just a relaxed rider and cruising around the 6k rpms which is my preferred relax riding. If I'm getting on it though and riding hard with my buddies or whatever I usually ride a lot higher rpms so I can get more speed, tourque and power out of it. It's a fun bike and you can do a lot with it but it's beginner friendly too. You will like It for sure.

·
Premium Member
3,828 Posts
that looking for a 7th gear will happen to you on almost any bike , probably not on a 1000 but I don't know because I have never been on one.