Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got a new Yosh slip-on for my '03 636...It sounds sooooooooo sweet, nice deep and throaty, but not too annoying...I just installed it a couple days ago and I noticed after riding it that it was smoking and it had a bad kind of burning smell coming out out of the end off the muffler, nothing that I've ever seen or smelt before...This is my first time ever putting a new exhaust on my bike and I know its normal for new exhausts systems and mufflers to smoke until the oil residue burns off...But I actually have ridden it hard 2 times since I put it on and I would think that the oil residue would of definately have burned off by now...So I'm thinking that something else might be wrong...Any comments or inputs would be greatly appreciated...Thanks Guys!!!!

·
Registered
212 Posts
IMO is going to take more than 2 hard rides for all of it burn off. I don't know how much different a car pipe is from a bike but it took about a whole week for all the smell/smoke to go away on mine.

I also have question because I'm thinking about getting a pipe my self. Do you get more/less HP from a slip on?, or is it just for sound? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
690 Posts
I believe the smell is coming from the muffler packing. It will go away after a few more rides.

·
Registered
2,694 Posts
i think you get a small hp increase but nothing like a full system. i guess people get them more for the sound and look

·
Registered
755 Posts
All manufacturers tell you that for a couple or three rides that excess oil and packaging from the pipe will burn off, smoke, and smell like shit (not in those exact words probably).

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #7