Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been riding off and on for about 8 years. My first bike was a Katana 600, had a triumph tt600 for a while, but now I'm married have bills etc. So one day my wife says "I want to learn to ride." I haven't had a bike for the last couple years but I have enough put away to afford a 2011 Ninja 250R (picking it up Saturday), so here I am! It's still technically her bike, but I figure I can enjoy it till I can afford something else for me.

Any of you out there have experience with downgrading from a 600 to a 250? Is it painful or does the flickable fun pretty much make up for it?

· Overwhelming Splendidery
13,506 Posts

· Registered
5,288 Posts
I think it's much more fun to ride a slow(ish) bike fast than it is to ride a fast bike slow - and if you're riding street you can't ride a fast bike fast and expect to keep your licence and avoid wrecks.

As long as you don't intend to do a lot of long highway rides you'll probably love the 250.

Rob

· Registered
749 Posts
So I've been riding off and on for about 8 years. My first bike was a Katana 600, had a triumph tt600 for a while, but now I'm married have bills etc. So one day my wife says "I want to learn to ride." I haven't had a bike for the last couple years but I have enough put away to afford a 2011 Ninja 250R (picking it up Saturday), so here I am! It's still technically her bike, but I figure I can enjoy it till I can afford something else for me.

Any of you out there have experience with downgrading from a 600 to a 250? Is it painful or does the flickable fun pretty much make up for it?
OMG How can you do someting so awesome and buy your wife her very first own new bike, and then tell people that you're planning to take it away for your own fun..before she even has it! You're going to be in so much trouble!!!