Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I searched the forum and came up blank on this , so here goes ...

I have a friend (fellow rider, but he rides a Katana), who says that left hand low handshake is universal REGARDLESS of the other person's bike. Kawasaki, Yamaha, Harley or even mopeds, he puts out the hand in greeting, as long as it has a motor. No bicycles he says.

What I want to know, from more experienced riders (since I'm a 40 year old Newbie) ... Is this the right thing to do ???

What do you do? Or is there more to it and I'm missing out? :confused:

Alan

First Post !

·
Registered
267 Posts
Yes, it's pretty universal, I waved at a scooter today...guy didn't wave back, but I think it's because he was in shock...lol.
The most common not to wave back (Im on a Ninja) are the Harley guys. I'm with your friend tho, if it has a motor, I'll wave.

·
Registered
443 Posts
I wave to anyone dumb enough to get up on two wheels (motorized).
Lots of people will exclude scooters...and some exclude squids.

BTW, I like that the fact that your first post is about the low wave! :)

·
Registered
1,148 Posts
i have a strict porlicy against waving at scooters. they get no love from me. one time i did it on accident i was pretty mad at myself especially cuz he didnt wave back. made me feel like a huge loser. but other than scooters ill wave at anybody, most of the time i dont do it when im on the highway though.

·
Registered
1,773 Posts
Everything but mopeds and Goldwings. Goldwings never wave back. Too busy playing with all of the buttons.

jk, I wave to Goldwings.

·
Neutered
2006 MV Agusta F4 1000S
8,869 Posts