Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey forums my name is Sean, and as you can see I'm from St. Louis. I've been reading these forums for a while and decided to jump on. I am a total noob who just got his license after taking the MSF course and is only waiting on money to get a bike.

Nice to "meet" you all. Have a good day. :D

·
Registered
183 Posts
Welcome to the forums... good idea with the MSF course up front, just remember to gear up and to ride safe... there are enough people on the road that don't see or care about us. Don't be a statistic! Enjoy the riding!

·
Registered
147 Posts
Welcome Sean, what part of STL you in, I live in North County.

·
Registered
557 Posts
Welcome! Congrats on MSF course, that is the smartest investment you could do before gear :)

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks everyone!

I live in Webster Groves, but I'm actually up in North County about once a week.

The MSF course was great fun, I did Riders Edge at Gateway Harley Davidson. I'm not sure why anyone would not do the course, unless money was a HUGE issue.

I'm looking to start on the 250 to get to know what street riding is about. My instructor at the course (a middle aged woman with children) actually suggested I start with something bigger. I thought it was interesting!

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
a 650 would do too if you will be mature with the throttle
While I feel like I would be, I would rather have less margin for error. (ie; sneezing and popping a wheelie :) )

I've heard one argument, by Mordeth13, that a larger bike would be superior to a 250 only in power. So, if you take it easy on the throttle, why start on something with more power which you would not use very often, if at all, with more difficult handling? I don't know, its just a thought. :confused:

·
Veteran Lowsider
20,840 Posts