Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted this in the 250 section too hope thats ok. Just want as many opions as possible since im gettin a either one soon.

Im deciding between the ninja 250 2nd gen or the ninja 650 1st gen.
Ive had a sv650 and a cbr 600f4i.Have neither anymore.So im not a total newb.
The whole reason Im considering a 250 is ive read and heard how much fun they can be. What ill be using the bike for is week night twisties, weekend trips and a few trackdays over the summer.

Some concerns
Ill miss the power. Im only 135 so that will help.
Two up riding possible? Well I know its possible... but how is it?
General freeway riding? Good for long hauls?
Generally going from big bikes to a small one.
Am I missing any other ones?

So I just cant decide again I like the fun factor of the 250 and the 650r seems to be a great all around bike. Also the 250 is a bit cheaper around here 3k for a nice used one low miles, which concerns me a little Ive seen alot with low miles( why are some many selling em). 650 around 3500-4k

Im posting this on the kawi forum too Id just like to get as many opinions as I can since this will be my only bike for a few yrs.

·
Registered
2,207 Posts
get the 650. 250s are good untill you feel the power of a 600 then they just feel pitiful. and for the record 4th gen 250 is 08 and up

·
Registered
559 Posts
So I just cant decide again I like the fun factor of the 250 and the 650r seems to be a great all around bike. Also the 250 is a bit cheaper around here 3k for a nice used one low miles, which concerns me a little Ive seen alot with low miles( why are some many selling em). 650 around 3500-4k

So many people are selling them because they're usually beginner bikes and people get bored of the power, etc. I'd say go for the 650, it'll be better for two up riding for sure. It's possible on a 250 but it's not the greatest feeling.

·
Registered
6,000 Posts