Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So im a newbie to motorcyle engines and was wondering after reading a few threads on clutch replacement, how does the clutch actually engage the transmission on these bikes. The clutch is on the far right of the bike and the flywheel is on the inside. i know the flywheel spins with the engine, and when the clutch is engaged, it spins with it, but how is it transferred to the tranny? i couldnt make sense of it from the piks and im one of those engineering students that has to know how everything works:D thanks for clearing it up

·
Registered
28,591 Posts
the "flywheel" has nothing to do with the clutch. the flywheel is the rotor for the charging system and is on the left side of the engine, where the clutch is on the right.

the clutch basket is driven by the crankshaft by the primary drive gears. the primary drive gear is on the crankshaft. the primary driven gear is on the clutch basket. the crankshaft's rotation is transferred to the clutch basket by this set of gears. there are a series of steel plates and a series of friction plates. one set of plates is slpined to the clutch basket, the other to the clutch hub. the clutch hub is splined to the transmission input shaft. the clutch pressure plate uses spring pressure to hold the two sets of clutch plates together(friction and steels). when the clutch is engaged the frictions and steels mesh together and transfer power from the clutch basket to the clutch hub. since the clutch basket is directly connected to the crankshaft it is always turning as long as the motor is running. since the clutch hub is splined to the transmission input shaft it will always turn at the same rate as the input shaft(or not turn at all when you're sitting still with the bike in gear and clutch disengaged)