Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A mobile mechanic quoted me $240 and like $4 for shim for each valve. Is this correct?

I was thinking a simple valve adjustment usually cost about $200?

Anyone chime in.

thanks

·
Registered
14 Posts
If he knows what he is doing it is a very fair price. There is alot if labor involved just to get to the shims. ZZR600 must drain coolant and move the radiator to get the valve cover off. Then after checking clearance the camshafts must come out. I paid $4 per shim which is alot less than what kawasaki charges at $14 per shim. It took me about 5-6 hours and I'm a professional. Pay the man and and be confident that your not going to hurt the engine with a tight valve.

·
Registered
132 Posts
I payed $300, and I thought that was a pretty good deal. Most shops in the area charged $300-$400, so I got in on the lower end. I do most work myself, but the thought of learning how to properly adjust valve lash on my baby was too much to bear so I took it into someone who knew what they were doing.

·
Registered
980 Posts
Sounds fair to me. I have done my valves myself a few times, if your mechanicaly inclined (and have the tools) or not afraid to learn, do it yourself. Getting the timing back can be tricky the first time you do it. Big probs if you get it wrong. TIP: Take zipties and tie the cam chain to the cam sprockets when you are pulling the cams to make re-timing it simplier.

Otherwise, pay the man his $'s..

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
He said I should change my CCT or cam chain tensioner? Is that necessary or just preventative?

thanks

·
Registered
14 Posts
The zip tie is a good idea for newbies. Good thinking. If the cam chain wasn't making noise in the first place I would wait. It's pretty simple to replace if you have problems later.

·
Got lime? I do
16,736 Posts