Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there everyone!

My name is Naj, i'm new here. I'm from Suffolk County, NY.

I've never been into bikes much, just mainly cars.. I've always stayed away from bikes as i've known a lot of people who have gotten hurt, and a few even killed..

But since these gas prices are how they are.. and i'm getting tired of driving my car all the time.. I've finally somehow gotten interested in bikes, I think it was since the first time I saw an 08 250R..

Since i'm a beginner and someone who's power hungry (got a heavy foot? hah), i think its best that I start off with somethin like a 250cc (not that i'd take it for granted heh), but its light and looks comfortable, so I think it would be perfect for me :)

Anyways..

I'm almost 24 years old, and I want a 250R really bad.. I'm trying to save up and get one in the next few months.. however not sure how the family is gonna handle that lol..

Again, i've never ridden before.. and I plan on registering for an MSF course near me, and am looking to take the permit test soon.

I had a few questions for you guys tho..

1. Since i've never ridden, or had any experience whatsoever with a bike (meaning i dont know how to work on or maintain one yet), would I be better off buying one from the dealership? as opposed to buying one local for like a grand cheaper almost.

2. What do you guys pay for insurance? im in NY.

3. Whats some good riding gear to get? as in what brand? or specific item thats worked well for most people.

4. Hey guys, thanks again for the responses!

Got another question for y'all..

Where's a good place to buy some quality riding gear? I'd like to get something that's definately gonna keep me safe, but not break the bank.. i'm not looking to sacrifice safety for a few bucks, but I don't want to shop from the most expensive places either heh..