Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
419 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
got a 2009 ZX6R couple days ago and rode it home - a 500 mile ride :)
long and demanding, but also fun. i'm a novice rider coming from 2008 250r so it has WAY too much power then i can handle now anyway. i miss the 70 MPG of the 250r

i was just cruising, only occasionally going into 12k rpm in 6th gear and shifting early.

i could get about 200-220 MPG with such conservative riding on full tank to empty.
Rode 167 miles from last fill-up without the fuel warning light coming on) the light comes on when only 3.5 L in the tank is left (0.92 gallons)
220 would be 48.8 MPG

Will PC 5 help with that aspect ?
What else besides conservative smooth riding ?

Also, in my area there isn't 91 octane fuel available, only 90. Does the octane really matter ? Does anyone use the lower octane rating ?

PS: i wouldn't mind gearing it up a bit by changing sprocket to +1 if that helps and is easy ? would that affect speedometer accuracy ?

·
Registered
487 Posts
No offense intended but the ZX6R is not meant for gas mileage, its meant to scream and be ridden. Conservatively I've seen about 40-43mpg and I believe Kawasaki rates it at 44mpg. So if you're getting more than that already, that would be pretty good.

·
Registered
147 Posts
I don't ride mine too hard, and I average about 34mpg. It was a let down for me coming off a 250 as well, however I know that more power = more gas.

As far as I know there really isn't anything you can do that will significantly increase your gas mileage except higher gearing. But who wants to make a performance bike have less power?

·
Registered
538 Posts