Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
731 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
i've never done this before, and have no one to help me. That being said it seems pretty simple but i have a small pile of stupid questions i am going to ask (i did mention that they might be stupid right?) because i'd rather ask a pile of stupid questions then do this wrong.

Question #1

is this the main air jet i'm supposed to be drilling out? So just unscrew it and drill it out in my hand.

EDIT: upon closer inspection the drill bit supplied fits all the way inside the jet that i circled :) that being said obviously i'm supposed to be drilling out the jet that looks to be pressed in to the right of it.

out of curiosity what is the jet that i circled?

·
Registered
731 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
next questions, so as it seems i remove the needles and re-use everything that's there, minus the needle and re-assemble. Is there anything under the black plastic cap i should be cleaning when i'm in there? should i be shooting a shot of carb cleaner into the hole the needle came out of?

EDIT, as far as cleaning, under the metal cover on the opposite side, i'm going to pull off the float, pilot jet, main jet and holder. From the carb cleaning thread

"Remove the screw holding the float needle valve and remove if necessary... sometimes they are pressed in and not meant to be removed."

So is this pressed in? or should i be removing it and hitting it with carb cleaner.

Anything else i should be hitting with cleaner or doing? it had fuel with no stabil in it over the winter, fresh fuel in the tank now.

Also where are the mixture screws/caps? I took a quick look but dont have anything disassembled and didnt see them. Are they under the plastic cover held down by the intake trumpets?

·
Registered
731 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
sorry should have said this is an ivans jet kit

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
sorry should have said this is an ivans jet kit