Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody,

I am doing all that to cover the topic that was really really difficult for me to tackle but here it goes.
I am going to post some more pics and make it a fotostory of a kind.
It's my first time doing that (ie. cutting and fotostorying) so please go easy on me.

I am doing that simply to help out either get the right directions or stay away from the mistakes I am making.

Now keep in mind it's done in episodes since I am away a lot of the time but I will finish the bike sooner or later and finish up this story.
Think of the first part as some sort of an encouragement reatment for all those who are still shying away from doing that (cutty cut cut the fairings).

ONWARDS!

To remove the fairing I used this well known tutorial: http://shanetp.110mb.com/Fairing Removal 09-10.pdf
That's a suprisingly easy job to do, great instructions :)

After all this my bike looked like that:

I decided to remove the grab rails and replace it with covers, it's still a ER-6F :)
Notice the slider mounting bracket installed to the frame (the bright metal piece in front of the frame).

After all the preparations the *fun* started and the "don't make my mistakes" part kicks in.
First off, I tried to put some sort of an object to find the center of the mounting hole. I put the fairings on without the slider mounts so that I have the free space and the frame doesn't get pulled on to any of the sides. It didn't work quite well and after the initial drilling hole it turned out I got it all wrong. The holes were far from the center.
i then tried doing some counter measures from the holes for mounting the fairings to the center of the slider mount and then cross checked it on the fairing itself (from the inside). It did give me more of a clearer view of where I should cut first.