Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
530 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1. Chicken strips are not necessarily an indication of how well you ride.
2. The track is the best place to try to lose your chicken strips.
3. Assuming the conditions are safe (e.g., track), the peg feelers should scrape before you lean too far, so until then, don't be afraid to lean the bike. With 1 inch or more of chicken strips, you are quite far from the limit.
4. The chicken strips might be a little slippery since they're unused rubber.

P.S. I'm not an expert, and I still have chicken strips on my right side. :)

·
Registered
350 Posts
Hey dont feel bad. With the new 03 6r it takes alot of lean to get those chicken strips to go away. You can lean these bikes over a ton and still have great control. Just have fun and dont worry about what people think and practice your lean. They will go away all in due time.

·
Registered
3,728 Posts
take your time, the wrose thing you can do is go out on the street with goals of riding faster or pushing the bike more...

just take your time and ride, and soon you will be just naturaly leaning the bike over farthur....

·
Registered
27 Posts
Yo,

It seem that all of my friends bikes have worn on there chicken strips alot more than me. I just can't seem to lean far enough. Is this just something that comes with time and Practice? It is my first street bike. Im about 1" to 1-1/2" away from the edge. Is that terrible or what? Thought I was a half way decent rider. I guess I've still got much to learn.

Any tips would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Trey

·
Registered
2,342 Posts
Sorry, no chicken strips here; force of habit[^]/forum/uploads/Strong Bad/zx-6r_rear_shock0003.jpg

....just a chain in need of some attention.

·
Registered
1,872 Posts
Ya, but your chain could sure use some attention, gotta get rid of that rust!

·
Registered
2,342 Posts