Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
550 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just like last night, I'm posting this thread mainly so it will appear easily in a search, with a specific answer I couldn't find when I searched.

I've seen a few people recommend this or that slider, with Motovation being in the minority. The appeal of these is that the slider on the right side (while sitting on the bike) doesn't put the force onto the end of that weird little engine-position adjuster thing. These have a machined sleeve that goes over that adjuster and puts the stress directly on the frame, where others can potentially bend that adjuster. When that adjuster gets bent, you have to drop the engine to remove and replace it. Of course, that doesn't mean these are better for it -- I honestly don't know, I'm not an engineer and don't know the direction/type/magnitude of the forces involved here, so for all I know these will bend the frame instead of the adjuster, which would be way worse. My gut says that they won't, and this is the best method. But my gut also told me it wanted those fried shrimp earlier this evening, and that isn't working out worth a damn. Anyway, here are pics of the slider so you can see the sleeve that goes over that adjuster, as I've not seen pics of them installed on here in my searches. I'll also tack on a pic or two of the other side, mainly because I'm damn proud of how well I cut and dressed the fairing :D