Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good review bro,
I agree on a lot of what you said, especially about the suspension and brakes. I get the same headshake and bounciness in my susp. as you did.
Also hearing how it kept up with those big boy bikes is very impressive. Great review.

-Tazz

·
Registered
202 Posts
HERE IT IS

A few details - I am 6'0" 198lbs. I have been riding street for 15 or so years. I have limited track experience however I have a lot of mountain and desert riding under my belt. The bike is also completely stock except for flush mount signals and a custom fender eliminator. I run Castrol GTX and I think I am going to stick with dyno oil as I change the oil every 1500 miles and filter every 3K

I am by no means an expert but I will try to explain from my perspective as best I can.:

Suspension

When I first started riding the twisties the suspension was bouncy in the rear. I also noticed some head shake on rougher roads or when accelerating on a rough exit. I tweaked and played with the settings and finally came up with:

Front: Preload--- 8 lines showing
Rebound--- 6 clicks
Compression-- 10 clicks
Rear: Preload--- 8.1mm thread showing above the collar
Rebound--- 6 turns out from fully in
Compression-- 6 turns out from fully in

This resulted in a more stable front end and not as much rear bounce at speed over rougher pavement. The bike felt much more stable under acceleration out of a turn, my transitions felt more in control, and the bike retained the sharp "turnability" on entrance. It seems to just want to fall over with ease in turns and I have not experienced anything but minor headshake on rough road, which I have no problem with. It also allowed me to slide out the rear more comfortably without the spongy feeling I got before. When I pick my line this bike sticks to it effortlessly. It just felt planted. My exits are much smoother and I couldn't be happier.

Engine